Tips: Planning a Museum Trip

on my birthday last year, my dad gave me a special present, a smartphone just for myself.. of course it had passed my mom’s approval under one condition: i would have been the one who planned our weekend trip – sounds like a fun project tho!

so these are my notes of how I plan the trip – with the websites or apps required

5 tips on planning a museum trip in the Netherlands

 

1 – finding the kids-friendly museum 

I go to the website: museum kids to find it.

WhatsApp Image 2019-08-22 at 11.36.51

in this website, I can see which museum is kids-proof and the rating – how good the museum is

there is also the feature to see all the temporary special events, my mom asked me to write about it separately, like in what season what museum will have a regular fun event

WhatsApp Image 2019-08-22 at 11.47.53

here, I usually pick 3-4 museums

2 – Go to each museum website to find out the details

especially the address, the opening and closing times, aaaand whether it accepts museumkaart or not

one time I only checked the museum kids website not the museum one, then they had already changed the rule: the museumkaart does not apply *so disappointed huuuuuu or whether the museum is closed temporarily

3 – find out how to get there

I use the app NS to see all the train schedule and I also use 9292 app to check the bus schedule

Image result for ns logo

WhatsApp Image 2019-08-22 at 12.06.06 (1)

this is important because we use public transportation, some museums are located in the middle of nowhere and no bus stop nearby (different bus schedule during weekend or holiday weeks) one time we had to walk 2-3km to get to the museum then since it is an open museum, we had to walk around it for some km more, then walked back to the station *sigh but I was in the mood of walking so it was fine

4 – check the weather

I use buienradar to check the weather.. this is also a very important step.. the weather in the Netherlands is not based on the season – most of the times.. it could be ice raining during spring, or bright and sunny during autumn, or raining the whole day during winter

WhatsApp Image 2019-08-22 at 15.04.13

by this step, usually I already choose 1 perfect museum to visit that weekend, and one last step..

5 – learn about the city

if I can arrive early or leave the museum early, it means I have more time in the city.. then it’s good to know the city too

so I would always browse around about the city.. for example about the history, or nice places like – the park or the centrum, or just a nice place to have coffee and cake

WhatsApp Image 2019-08-22 at 15.35.41

 

Museumkaart

Now if you ask what is museumkaart let me explain.. it is a card that you can use to visit some specific museums in the Netherlands the card will last for one year but you can extend your card if you want to. it is around 30euros for kids and 60euros for adults

.Image result for museumkaart

 

Leave a comment